CPTPP levels the playing field for Canada in Asia-Pacific

CPTPP levels the playing field for Canada in Asia-Pacific

While the announcement of US tariffs on aluminum and steel and the NAFTA negotiations disrupted the media sphere, the signing of the Global and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) went virtually unnoticed. Yet, the representatives of the 11 countries part of the CPTPP met to sign the agreement in Chile, on March 8.

But what does the CTTPP consists of and what does it mean for Canadian businesses?

The CPTPP replaces the Transpacific Partnership (TPP), which was aborted following the withdrawal of the United States. Once the CPTPP comes into force, it will remove all non-tariff barriers to trade and will also reduce or eliminate most tariffs among members. The PTPGP brings together 11 countries from both hemispheres making it one of the largest trading areas in the world comprised of nearly 500 million people and 13.5 % of global GDP.

This new free trade agreement means that Canada gained significant strategic and economic benefits with enhanced access to seven key Asian-Pacific markets. These gains are most significant in Japan as well as in Vietnam and Malaysia, two fast growing markets. These members are also countries in which no free trade agreements are currently in place.

Total trade value between Canada and other members of the CPTPP was $ 105 billion in 2016. Overall, the CPTPP will contribute to the long-term increase of Canadian GDP by $ 4.2 billion. The CPTPP also provides new preferential access to Canadian exporters, which are expected to benefit from annual tariff savings of $ 428 million, with 80 % of these profits coming from exports to Japan.

The CPTPP will benefit multiple sectors, including agriculture, fish and seafood, forestry, metals and minerals as well as financial services. Canadian exports to Vietnam are expected to grow the most, with an estimated increase of 16.8 %. These gains will be mainly concentrated on food products and chemicals. Exports to Malaysia will increase by 4.3 %, mainly due to the machinery and the automotive sectors.

On the other hand, the trade liberalization caused by the CPTPP will contribute to the decline in relative preferential access enjoyed by Canada with Mexico, Chile and Peru, countries with which FTAs are in effect. Therefore, a decrease in trade with these three partners is to be expected. Nevertheless, the overall gains are considerable and even higher than those expected with the TPP, since the withdrawal of the United States changed the dynamics of the calculation of economic benefits to Canada’s advantage.

In partnership with NSCS Go International, GoExport has the capabilities to enable Canadian companies to seize business opportunities arising from the CPTPP. Contact us !

Learn more : https://international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/cptpp-ptpgp/index.aspx?lang=eng

Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com

PTPGP : Le Canada accède à l’Asie-Pacifique

PTPGP : Le Canada accède à l’Asie-Pacifique

Dans la foulée de l’annonce des tarifs américains sur l’aluminium et sur l’acier ainsi que des négociations de l’ALENA, la signature de l’Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) est pratiquement passée inaperçue. C’est au Chili, le 8 mars dernier, que les représentants des 11 pays du PTPGP se sont rencontrés afin de procéder à la signature de l’Accord.

Mais quel est vraiment cet Accord et que signifie-t-il pour les entreprises canadiennes?

Le PTPGP remplace le Partenariat Transpacifique (PTP), avorté en raison du retrait des États-Unis. Lorsqu’il sera en vigueur, le PTPGP supprimera l’entièreté des barrières non tarifaires au commerce et permettra aussi la réduction ou l’élimination de presque tous les droits de douane entre les pays membres. Le PTPGP regroupe 11 pays des deux hémisphères ce qui en fait l’une des plus grandes zones commerciales du monde avec près de 500 millions de personnes et totalisant 13,5 % du PIB mondial.

Pour le Canada, ce nouvel accord de libre-échange signifie des avantages stratégiques et économiques notables avec une nouvelle ouverture sur sept marchés clés de l’Asie-Pacifique. Les gains les plus importants pour le Canada sont réalisés avec le Japon ainsi que le Vietnam et la Malaisie, deux marchés à croissance rapide, pays avec lesquels aucun accord n’était en vigueur.

En 2016, le commerce entre le Canada et les autres membres du PTPGP se chiffrait à 105 milliards de dollars. De manière globale, le PTPGP contribuera à l’augmentation, à long terme, du PIB canadien à hauteur de 4,2 milliards de dollars. Le PTPGP accorde de nouveaux accès préférentiels aux exportateurs canadiens qui devraient jouir d’économies tarifaires annuelles de 428 millions de dollars, dont près de 80 % de ces bénéfices proviendront des exportations vers le Japon.

Le PTPGP profitera à de multiples secteurs, dont l’agriculture et l’agroalimentaire, les poissons et les fruits de mer, la foresterie, les métaux et les minéraux ainsi que les services financiers. Les exportations canadiennes vers le Vietnam sont celles qui devraient connaître le plus de croissance, avec une estimation de 16,8%. Ces augmentations seront principalement concentrées vers les produits alimentaires et les produits chimiques. Les exportations vers la Malaisie augmenteront quant à elle de 4,3 %, gains essentiellement dirigés vers les secteurs de la machinerie et des produits automobiles.

D’un autre côté, la libéralisation des échanges causée par le PTPGP contribue à la diminution de l’accès préférentiel relatif dont bénéficie le Canada avec le Mexique, le Chili et le Pérou, pays avec lesquels des ALE sont en vigueur. Il faut donc s’attendre à une diminution du commerce avec ces trois partenaires. Malgré tout, les gains globaux sont considérables et même plus élevés qu’avec le PTP. En effet, le retrait des États-Unis modifie la dynamique du calcul des avantages économiques à l’avantage du Canada.

En partenariat avec NSCS Go International, GoExport a les capacités pour permettre aux entreprises canadiennes de saisir les opportunités d’affaires découlant du PTPGP. Contactez-nous!

En savoir plus : https://international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/agr-acc/cptpp-ptpgp/index.aspx?lang=fra

Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com